30 Wishes by 30- My Bucket List

So we all talk about bucket lists or crossing things off of our bucket lists. However I have never physically written one. I haven’t written one because I have no idea of the things I want to do before I die; so I thought I would make it easier on myself and pick 30 things I want to do or see before I turn 30.

They range for places I want to go, to things I want to do, to challenges I want to overcome.

30 Wishes Before 30

  1. Take the Dursey Island Cable Car

The sea is so  turbulent that it is too dangerous to travel by bout to Dursey Island. Originally opened in 1969, the Dursey Island cable car remains the most used means of transport to the Island. Ireland’s only cable car and the only cable car that traverses open seawater in all of Europe.

2.  Face my fear of flying

Image result for marge simpson  let me off let me off gif I am terrified of flying and that is why this summer I am getting on a plane to go to Portugal with my amazing boyfriend, the fear of having a seizure on the plane is not helping my fear of flying but once I get on the plane I will be fine.

 

 

3. Visit the USA – Route 66, New York

Related imageOne of my biggest regrets is not going on a J! when I was still in college. Now I really want to visit the states maybe even road trip part of it. I would love to do route 66 or visit the beaches of California or blow all my money in Vegas 😛 (That was a joke, I find it hard enough to bet 4 euro on a horse never mind do serious gambling.)

4. Go Inter-railing

Image result for croatiaI want to go inter-railing before I am 25. I want to see as many countries as I possibly can in 3 weeks not sure of exactly what countries I want to see all I know is CROATIA is on that list.

 

 

5. Write a Novel (doesn’t matter if I never publish it)

Image result for I am writing a book gifsI have always wanted to write a novel, my favourite subject in school was English, just because I could let my imagination run wild and write stories. So now I want to write a full on book. If there is enough interest I might even post a chapter or two here. 😉

6. Visit the Giants Causeway

It just one of those tourism sites everyone goes wild about and I have never been, So I really want to go.

7. Go on a Bat walk in Glendaloughe

This is something I didn’t even know was a thing until recently. And considering bats kind of scare me and I am scared of the dark maybe it is not something I should do but I really want to, so it is on the list!

8. Have a picnic by Glencar Waterfall in Leitrim

Image result for high scjhool musical picnic gifsI have tormented my boyfriend all summer to go on a picnic with me; the fact I do not own a picnic blanket or basket is irrelevant. And because he hasn’t taken me the stakes have just gotten even higher. Now I want him to take me on a picnic to the most beautiful picnic spot ever.

Hey if Zac Efron and Vanessa Hugens got to have a picnic on a golf course with beautiful scenery in High School Musical; ( Literally the franchise of my pre teen and teenage years) shouldn’t I get a picnic with my boyfriend somewhere pretty too?

 

9. Go to Craggy Island for TedFest

Do I really need to say anymore? Personally I feel that as part of Ted Fest, Rose of Tralee contestants should be brought to the festival to take part in the Lovely Girls Competition. That is part of the Rose of Tralee Experience I would jump on! 😀 Actually can I just enter the lovely girls competition they have at Ted Fest? ❤

10. Visit Mizen Head in Cork

Image result for irish bucket list mizen head corkMizen Head  is located at the extremity of the Kilmore Peninsula in County Cork, Ireland. It is the  most south-westerly point of Ireland.  There’s a bridge across a gorge. On the other side, above the wild waters of the Atlantic is Mizen Head Signal Station. The views are said to be breath taking.

 

11. Get my very own China Tea Set

Image result for Mrs Potts and chip tea setWhat can I say, I LOVE a good cup of tea and I love pretty things. Well a China tea set is pretty and I have always associated it with being a grown up.

 

 

 

12. Visit Amsterdam (and the Anne Frank museum)

I would love to cycle everywhere but in Dublin the traffic makes me so nervous. So I would love to cycle my way around Amsterdam, take in the sights and the history. I really want to visit the Anne Frank museum too.

13. Visit Normande in France

Image result for Normande franceAgain mainly for the history and the views. It would be really nice to try use some of that French I learned all those years ago. Eat croissants and cakes in dainty French cafes, see a few castles and drink some wine, I guess.

 

14. Be a Tourist in My own City for a weekend

There are so many things in Dublin I have never done. The Guiness store House, Never seen it. The Dublin Ghost Bus Tour, Never done it. Myself and my family always said we would do it. And I really want too. I want to see what all the hype is about among tourists.

Image result for bucket list gifs15. Do a weekend away unplugged

SO essentially I want to go away somewhere nice and tranquil in Ireland and not use my phone or the internet. I might leave my phone on airplane mode to take pictures but I want no interruptions from the outside world. So I guess anywhere in the west of Ireland is a good place to start because the internet coverage is not great there.

16. Go to a festival

A music festival or a wellness festival it doesn’t matter, but preferably both. They are not really my thing music festivals too much alcohol and drugs for me and I am very claustrophobic so far too many people, I barely cope at concerts. However that doesn’t mean I can’t face my fears. ; )

17. Go see something on the West End

18. Go see a how on Broadway

These are both kind of the same thing. But I really love musicals and my childhood dream was to be a star on the West End or Broadway stage. So I feel I owe it to younger me to just experience a show in both locations.

19. Spend a weekend watching classics

I have never seen so many of the classics like Pretty Woman, Maid in Manhattan etc. So I want to devote a weekend to pizza, Chocolate, tea and someone to watch them with. Maybe a weekend I have my period would be best so I can have junk food guilt free.

20. Run a Marathon (or half Marathon or even a mini marathon)

Image result for funny  i hate running gifsI just want to run something, I want to be fit and do something to prove to myself I am fit but a girl has got to be realistic here.

Ye know hun, Walk before I can run, huh, huh 😛

 

 

21. Take swimming lessons

Image result for funny swimming tv show  gifsOkay so first thing is first, I can swim, badly. (as in I am slow and still like the security of being able to touch the ground) But I would like to improve and actually feel confident in my swimming ability, that you know if my life jacket didn’t work I could stay afloat and maybe attempt swimming back to shore.

22. Go snorkelling

Well really I would like to go scuba diving but I dobht I will be that brave by the age of 30 so lets aim small, yeah? at least this way I could still see the fish and stuff.

Road Trip around Ireland for two weeks

I seem to have a thing for road tripping, but really this kind of incorporates the tourist in my own city thing only longer.

There are so many parts of Ireland I have never seen and tourist spots I have never been too. I was always told I had the gift of the gab and must have swallowed the Blarney Stone, yet I have never seen it. Actually I am not even sure where it is (I sucked at geography in school.)

24. Throw a Themed Dinner Party

Related imageI want to host a dinner party with a theme to the outfits and food like a Game Of Thrones Theme or a Beauty and the Beast theme. Maybe I could incorporate it into a fully fledged games night like cluedo?

 

25. Sign up for Runamuck or To Hell and Back

Related imageI always wanted to an obstacle course race like I used to watch on TV. However the Idea of mud doesn’t appeal to me so much, but ah well I will just have to deal with it. I have let my epilepsy and Chiari Malformation hold me back too much, so I really want to do this now, to prove to myself and others that I can. 🙂

 

26. See the Northern Lights

Image result for see the Northern lights IrelandI really want to see the Northern Lights, but I don’t mind not going to Norway to see them. I would be happy enough if I got to see them for Ireland. But If I don’t get to see the Northern Lights I would be happy enough to go stargazing in a Forest Dome in Fermanagh.

 

27. Experience Flying in a Hot Air balloon

Image result for hot air balloons irelandAs a kid I used to live in a small village in Co. Kildare and I remember some summers seeing Hot Air Balloons going into the sky in the distance, so despite my fear of heights I guess I have always wanted to experience what it must feel like to be in one, flying in the sky.

 

28. Have a girly day or trip with my mam and sisters

We have never had an all out girly day since we all reached adulthood. So I would love a spa day or afternoon tea on the old vintage bus tea with my mum and sisters. Maybe for one of our birthdays.

29. Get my Driving Licence

Well this was something I was working towards but since I started having seizures this has had to be put on hold. But I do hope when my epilepsy gets under control it is something I will get to achieve.

30. Get Married (or at least engaged)

Image result for emerald engagement ring IrelandWell I guess most girls have this on their bucket list so I would love to be married before I reach 30. But if I can’t get married for whatever reason I would at least like to be engaged by 30.

I am a bit odd some think but I want to be an emerald engagement ring cause they are my favourite, not diamonds. I also want to be proposed to not in front of everyone but somewhere that is important to me and the person proposing.

Bonous Wishes

  1. Have a Wild Girls Weekend
  2. Enter the Rose of Tralee one more Time
  3. Find my Dream Job
  4. Buy a House

Do you want to do any of the things on my list, or do you think there is something I have to add to that list? Let me know in the comments, tweet me at NicoleOConnor18 or just use the contact page.

 

Until Next Time,

 

Nicole


2 thoughts on “30 Wishes by 30- My Bucket List

  1. Route 66 exploration in New York sounds like a once-in-a-lifetime experience! Wishing you the best of luck with the novel and success in all of your wonderful bucket list goals, such as getting into the Rose of Tralee, landing your ideal career, and purchasing a home.

    Like

Leave a comment